Workspaces


Introduction

Workspaces provide an advanced way to set up detailed access permissions. With Workspaces, you can assign users specific access rights to specific content items (Media, Playlists, etc.) or specific Monitors. The Workspaces feature allows you to define multiple sets of Content+Screens and then assign users access rights for these sets.

Imagine you are a company with multiple branches, each with some screens. You want to manage some of the content centrally and allow your local store managers to partially manage some content (e.g., playlist) based on their local audience. This is a typical case where you set up one Workspace per local store and assign each manager access to the matching Workspace while giving an HQ employee access to all Workspaces.

The Workspaces feature is flexible enough that it allows you to implement any kind of access restriction scenario. If you have difficulty setting it up on your own, please reach out, and we will help you optimize your use of our Enterprise Plan.

The “Active Workspace” Menu

With the “Workspaces” feature available in your Yodeck Account, a drop-down menu appears in the top-right corner of the Yodeck Portal. This menu allows you to select the Workspace you want to work on and manage Workspaces (creating, editing, or deleting them).

Workspaces

When you select a Workspace from the drop-down menu, then

  • you will only see the content items (Media, Widgets, Playlists, Layouts, Schedules) and Monitors that are placed within that Workspace, and
  • any item that you create will be placed in the currently selected Workspace.

Also, when creating or editing items that reference other items, like

  • Playlists referencing Media and other Playlists
  • Layouts referencing Media and Playlists
  • Schedules referencing Layouts, Media, and Playlists
  • Monitors referencing a Schedule and a Layout, Playlist or Media

then, in the selection area, you see all items from across Workspaces that you have, at least, “read” access to. For example, if you have read/write access to Workspace “Region 1” and read-only access to Workspace “Region 2” and try to create a Playlist in Workspace
“Region 1”, you will be able to use any Media from both Workspaces “Region 1 and 2”. To find out more on assigning specific access rights to Workspaces, check out the documentation to “Roles ” after you have completed reading all sections below.

Using “All”

If you select “All,” then you will see the items (Media, Playlists, Monitors, etc.) from all Workspaces that you have at least “Read” access to.

This is especially useful if you have access to multiple Workspaces, as it allows you to see items across Workspaces and easily find what you are looking for. Note that “All” is the pre-selected option when you log in to the Yodeck Portal.

If you try to create an item while “All” is select, then a pop-up will urge you to select a Workspace to place the new item.

The “Default Workspace”

The “Default Workspace” is the Workspace where all your content resides when you subscribe to the “Enterprise” Plan. Since the “Standard” and “Pro” Plans do not have the Workspaces feature, all content items that existed before you upgrade to the “Enterprise” Plan are placed in the “Default Workspace”. You can then move the items you want from the “Default Workspace” to the Workspaces you create later on.

The “Default Workspace” also serves another purpose; whenever you delete a Workspace, all items left in that Workspace are automatically placed in the “Default Workspace”. The same applies when you downgrade from the “Enterprise” Plan to the “Standard” or “Pro” Plans; all Workspaces are deleted, and all items in your account are placed in the “Default Workspace”.

Keep in mind that the “Default Workspace” is just another Workspace; you can assign permissions to it and place items in it, just like you can do with any other Workspace. You can’t rename or delete it; it is always there.

Your Workspaces

After the “Default Workspace” entry, the Workspaces that you have created follow in alphabetical order.

As an Admin, you can see all Workspaces in your Yodeck Account. But as a regular user, you might not have access to all Workspaces in your Yodeck Account (including the “Default Workspace”). In the drop-down menu, you only see Workspaces that you have access to. If a non-Admin User has access only to a single Workspace (or any Workspace at all), they will not see the “Active Workspace” menu. This is to make the Yodeck Portal much easier to use for simple Users without complex access.

Using “Manage Workspaces …”

The last item in the “Active Workspace” Menu is the “Manage Workspaces …” item. Clicking here gets you to the Workspace Management screen, which is detailed in the following paragraph.

Managing Workspaces

Manage Workspace

In the Workspace Management section, you can create as many Workspaces as you need. The only thing to provide is a Name (which appears in the drop-down list) and a Description with any extra details you might need. As soon as you add your Workspaces, you will see them appear in the “Active Workspace” dropdown menu. Some tips:

  • The Workspace Management screen is only available to the Users with “Workspace” permission, including the Account Owner (who always has “Administrator” permission).
  • You can later change the Name and Description of the Workspaces, so there’s no need to worry about choosing a name and description.
  • The “Active Workspace” drop-down menu always shows the “All” and “Default Workspace” items first. Then, all Workspaces you create are listed in alphabetical order. If you want to show Workspaces in a specific order, just prefix their names with numbers in ascending order.
  • Keep in mind that if you delete a Workspace, all items in it will be moved to the “Default Workspace”.

Workspace Monitor Limits

Workspace Monitor Quote

As an Account Owner or as an Account Administrator, you have the ability now to set how many monitors each Workspace Admin can register to his Workspace. In other words, you control how many monitors each Workspace can have and have a general view of how many monitors each Workspace has.

By editing the Workspace of your choice, you can set a ” Limit Number ” and configure that Workspace to have a specific monitor limit on how many monitors the Workspace Admins can add.

If the Workspace monitors reach the limit you have set, a relative message will appear to the Workspace admins to notify them, that they can not add more monitors to their Workspace. you can of course increase or decrease the limits per your needs.

Workspaces’ Diagram

Workspace tree

Assigning Users Roles in Workspaces

Having Workspaces without restricting access to them does not make much sense. As an Admin, you can assign Users in your Yodeck Account specific access rights to each Workspace.

If the Workspaces feature is available in your Yodeck Account, then the User Management screen changes. You are then able to assign Users specific Roles in specific Workspaces. Check out the section called Custom Roles .