Users

In this section, you can see the list of all your existing users in the account, identified by their e-mail addresses, together with their assigned permissions.

One user defined as the “Owner” of the account can add (invite) more users. The “Owner” cannot be deleted from the Yodeck account at any point. However, the additional users can be edited or deleted, with the corresponding buttons appearing in the right field under the “Actions” column.

Click on the “+Add User” button to add a new user. There are the User Details to be added or edited in an existing user’s event in the screen that appears. The following fields appear under “User Details”:

  • First Name
  • Last Name
  • E-mail
  • Password

Below this information, there is a table that allows you to set permissions for the new user or change the existing permission settings for a current user.

Standard User Roles

Roles & Permissions define the access rights a User has to specific parts of your Yodeck Account. These features are available under the “Users” section, accessible from the top-right menu of the Yodeck Portal.

To make it easy for the vast majority of our Users, we have defined a set of standard Roles. In the “Standard” and “Pro” Plans, you can assign only one Role to each User, while in the “Enterprise” plan, you can assign a User one Role per Workspace (see the “Roles in Workspaces” article).

For the user to have access to all fields, manage and edit items in the account, manage subscription and behave as an Admin user. By clicking on this box, all boxes will be automatically clicked too.

This Permission provides unrestricted access to the whole Yodeck Account.

Beyond that, the “Administrator” permission is required for a User to:

  • Manage other Users of the Yodeck Account (creating, editing, or deleting them)
  • Manage Workspaces (creating, editing, or deleting them)
  • Manage Custom Roles (creating, editing, or deleting them)
  • Create or delete Devices (editing is allowed for other authorized Users as well, check out Roles below)
  • Manage Tags (creating, editing, or deleting them)
  • Manage global settings for the Yodeck Account (Password Policy and SAML)
  • Receive all email notifications for devices going offline/online

To have a user only dealing with the subscription and billing details of the account. This Permission provides access to the Subscription-related screens of the Yodeck Account. It can be useful to allow access to Purchasing or Accounting departments to see billing history, invoices, and so on, and be able to change the subscription.

Users with this Permission:

  • Have access to all subscription-related screens
  • Can upgrade/downgrade/modify the subscription
  • Can see the billing history, invoices, credit card charges, and so on
  • Receive emails that have to do with purchasing and billing (orders, failed charges, shipping tracking code notifications, etc.)
Manage Subscription role

To have a user manage the whole range of activities within media files. As you can see next to the “All” column, there are 3 more columns determining specified access to users. The user can View, Change, Create, Delete media files, playlists, layouts, schedules, and monitors.

Yodeck Workspace Admin role

To have a user viewing only:

  • Media
  • Playlists
  • Layouts
  • Schedules
Content viewer role

To have a user viewing, changing and deleting the following:

  • Media
  • Playlists
  • Layouts
  • Schedules
  • Monitor Content

To have a user viewing, changing, and deleting the following:

  • Media
  • Playlists
  • Layouts
  • Schedules
  • Monitor Content
  • Push to Players
  • Broadcast Emergency Alerts
Content Publisher role

To have a user viewing and changing, and only media files:

Media Creator role

To have a user viewing, changing, and deleting only media files:

Media Manager role

To have a user viewing and changing the player’s configuration such as WiFi, monitor orientation, and also create and delete screens.

To have a user viewing the following:

  • Media
  • Playlists
  • Layouts
  • Schedules
  • Monitor Content
  • Push to Players
  • Broadcast Emergency Alerts

To have a user be able to broadcast emergency alerts only.

Emergency Broadcaster role

Example 1

Suppose you give a user the authority to “View” Schedules by clicking on the relevant box. In that case, it automatically means that they will also view Media files, Playlists, and Layouts since they are all contained in schedules. Hence, clicking “View” schedules, “view” will be automatically selected for Media, Playlists, and Layouts.

Example 2

Suppose you give a user the authority to “Change” Layouts. In that case, it automatically means that the user will also be able to view them, and since Layouts contain Playlists and Media files, that user will be able to view those files. Therefore, clicking “Change” Layouts will automatically select “View” on Layouts, Playlists, and Media.