Groups

Introduction


The primary objective of user groups is to facilitate the establishment of clean and efficient account setups for multinational corporations, enabling them to manage and monitor their users efficiently.

The recommended approach for large corporations to set up their account is as follows:

  1. Create a user group for each role required within the organization, typically based on the organizational policies of the company.
  2. Configure the Primary workspace for each user and add them to the appropriate user group, dynamically assigning them the correct role in their Primary workspace.
  3. At a later stage, in the event of exceptions, users may either grant explicit access to a workspace or create specific groups to be shared with designated workspace administrators.

How Groups will apply to your company’s structure policy

This text explains how to assign users roles in your organization based on your policies and structure.

First, you must decide which roles you want to give your users. You can choose from a list of predefined roles or create a custom role with specific permissions.

Next, create a group for each role you want to give your users. You can use predefined groups or create new ones. Assigning roles to users based on their primary workspace is recommended if you use workspaces. This way, you can group users with the same role and achieve better access control and visibility.

Finally, add your users to each group to assign them roles.


Type of Groups

Special Groups

Group NameDescription
All UsersIncludes all users of your account. It can be used to give some access rights to everyone.
Global AdminsUnlimited access to everything, including Account Settings, except Billing.
Billing AccessAccess to invoices, subscription changes, payment methods, etc.

Predefined Groups

Group NameDescription
Workspace AdminsFull access to the workspace’s content and monitors can publish content. On the Enterprise plan, you can manage users at the workspace level.
Content & Device ManagersFull access to the workspace’s content and monitors can publish content.
Content ManagersFull access to workspace’s content, publish content, and change monitor content but cannot change monitor configuration.
Restricted Content ManagersFull access to workspace’s content but cannot publish content.
Content ViewersThey can only view the workspace’s content.

Create a new Group

This text explains a feature that allows grouping users with similar roles or policies in a way that makes it easy to manage their access to different workspaces.

When creating a group, you can specify the group’s name, color, and description. If you enable the “Available to all workspace admins” option, Workspace Admins will be able to use this group when adding or editing a user on the Users page, but they won’t have access to view or change the group.

Group Permissions

On Primary Workspace

For organizations that use workspaces, this option is the proposed way to give roles to your users. It is based on the user’s attribute “Primary Workspace,” Instead of assigning a role to a specific workspace, you assign a role to each user’s Primary Workspace.

If you want to give a specific role to the workspaces below the Primary workspace, a.k.a Sub Workspaces, enable the “Sub Workspaces” box and assign a role. This role will be assigned to all users created on the Workspaces below the Primary Workspace.

Sub Workspaces

Example:

  • User A is a Content Manager at Boston Workspace.
  • User B is a Content Manager at New Orleans Workspace.
  • User C is a Content Manager at Los Angeles Workspace.
  • Use the pre-defined Group “Content Managers” that assign the Content Manager role to each user’s Primary Workspace.
  • Go to each user and add their Primary Workspace (“Boston Workspace” for User A, “New Orleans” for User B, etc.)

Benefits of using Primary Workspace

  • It’s easier to apply and manage your organization’s access policies using Groups for each role/policy.
  • On the Users page, you can easily understand users’ access based on the group they are in
  • You can see your users based on their roles.
  • You can still handle special cases like a user having roles in many workspaces by giving them explicit roles per workspace or using the “Other Workspace” field in groups.

On other Workspace

Assign a Role for users in this group to have on a Workspace.

If you want to give a specific role to the users below the parent workspace, a.k.a Sub Workspaces, enable the “Sub Workspaces” box and assign a role. This role will be assigned to all users created on the Sub Workspaces.

Sub Workspaces

Example with Sub Workspaces

If you want all the users on Workspaces under the “France” Workspace to have the “Restricted Content Manager” role, you can configure it, as shown below.

Configuration:


Members

To add users to the group, click the +Add Member button and add their names to the list of members in the group.


Need Help?

The Yodeck Support Team can help you out! Log in to your Yodeck account and Send us a message from the bottom right corner!